Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion: Research Tools

Books & eBooks

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

Religions of the World cover art

  • Religion
  • Religions
  • God
  • Theology
  • Metaphysics
  • United States - Religion
  • Christianity
  • Catholicism
  • Islam
  • Judaism
  • Gautama Buddha
  • Philosophy
  • Ethics
  • Logic
  • Thought and thinking
  • Socrates

Here are some print and ebook examples:

Encyclopedia of Religion cover    Encyclopedia of Philosophy cover    Bioethics book cover

  Encyclopedia of Religion      R 200.3 ENCYCLO 2005

  Encyclopedia of Philosophy   R 104 ENCYCLO 2006

  Encyclopedia of Bioethics    R 174.957 ENCYCLO 2004


These encyclopedias and more ebooks are available in these SCC Library databases:

  Library Databases (including articles)

From the SCC Library homepage choose Databases A-Z, or try one of these suggested databases:

Afterlife assignment

Students who are researching beliefs about the hereafter in various religions can use any appropriate resource on this page. Encyclopedias of religion may be particularly helpful. Search for information on a specific religion, and read the section on death or the afterlife. Some other searches to try:

  • Future life
  • Death
  • Dying
  • Afterlife
  • Death - Religious aspects

Or perhaps a particular term which refers to the afterlife like:

  • Christianity
  • Judaism
  • Heaven
  • Hell
  • Reincarnation
  • Valhalla

See also any appropriate books about:

  • world religions
  • comparative religion

  Websites

ancient scroll

Books: Ethics

Many of the topics which students choose to research are related in some way to ethics. The following SCC Library books contain chapters which consider topics like:

  • Promoting the good
  • Altruism
  • Well-being
  • Fairness
  • Equality
  • Errors or mistakes (including medical errors)
  • Forgiveness
  • Conduct of life
  • Doing or allowing harm
  • Lying
  • Promises
  • Obligations
  • Demanding too much
  • Rights
  • Rules