Skip to main content
library banner

Respiratory Care: Research Guide

Use this guide to find information in books, library databases, and websites.

Books

Use the Library SEARCH to look for books on specific subjects. 

For books related to respiratory care do a Subject search for any of the following terms:

Blood gases - analysis

Cardiopulmonary system

Lungs - diseases

Pediatric respiration diseases

Pulmonary function tests

Respiration

Respiratory agents

Respiratory infections

Respiratory insufficiency

Respiratory organs

Respiratory therapy

Respiratory therapists


 

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
This library database contains 150,000 ebooks, including many related to respiratory care. Try using the subject terms listed above.


 

Reserve books can be found at the Check Out Desk and are available for in-library use only.

 

Respiratory Care cover


Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care

 

Equipment Theory for RC cover

Equipment Theory for Respiratory Care

 

Respiratory Notes cover page

Respiratory Notes: Respiratory Therapist's Pocket Guide

 


 

Reference books are on the 1st floor of the library. These include medical dictionaries, drug books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Here are some examples: 

Welcome

Information Sources for
Respiratory Care

This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites

 diagram of human lungs

Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest, "Lungs," accessed 9 Dec 2014,
http://quest.eb.com/#/search/139_1947569/1/139_1947569/cite

Respiratory Care at SCC

(video link)

Learn more about the Respiratory Care
A.A.S. degree
at Spokane Community College

Careers & Employment

Explore career and jobs information with the 
Allied Health Careers research guide


 

Exam review books available
in the Career Section of the SCC Library

R.T. Exam cover

Comprehensive Respiratory Therapist Exam Review: Entry and Advanced Levels

 

R.C. Exam cover

Respiratory Care Exam Review: Review for the Entry Level and Advanced Exams

Can't Find It at SCC?

SFCC materials

When you use the Library Search you may find books and videos on your topic that are available at the SFCC Library. Click the "Request Item" button to have the item sent to SCC for you to pick up.  If it's convenient, go directly to the SFCC Library and use your student ID card to check out the books.

Partner Libraries

The SCC Library participates in a cooperative of Partner Libraries in the Inland Northwest. Partner Libraries include Gonzaga University, North Idaho College and others. Search for books in Partner Libraries by going to the SCC Library Search, entering your search terms and clicking on the Search button. When the results appear, click on the down arrow next to CCS Libraries and select Partner Libraries from the dropdown list. You may request the books be sent to the SCC Library for pick up, or if convenient, go directly to the Partner Library and use your student ID card to check out the books.

Materials at other libraries

If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC, we can get it for you.  We'll locate the library that owns it and request an interlibrary loan.  Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

Help with Research

The SCC Library has several ways to help you with research and citations:

Come in to the SCC Library Reference Desk during business hours

Call the SCC Library Reference Desk at (509) 533-8821

Send an email to the SCC Reference Desk at SCC.Reference@scc.spokane.edu

Open the SCC Library Start Your Research web page, scroll down, and enter your question in the Ask Us! box (available 24/7).

Use the SCC Library Writing Research Papers guide for tips on writing and creating citations.

Library Databases

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They can be found in the Articles & Databases section of the SCC Library homepage.  Here are some databases that may be useful for researching topics related to respiratory care:

CINAHL Complete
articles in nursing and allied health journals

Cochrane Library
evidence-based health care information, including reports on the effectiveness of different medical treatments and interventions

MICROMEDEX
primarily a source of drug and disease information for healthcare professionals, also includes a database of easy-to-understand information for patients called CareNotes System

ProQuest
index to magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals


Many SCC Library databases will prompt you to login. If this occurs, use your Bigfoot username and password:

If you are unable to login, contact a librarian as soon as possible. Librarians will make sure you are able to login.


In addition to the many medical journals available in SCC Library databases, the library also subscribes to the print edition of Respiratory Care (the official journal of the American Association of Respiratory Care).

R.C. Journal cover

Websites

 

Medical Literature 

 

Pub Med logo

PubMed
Note: This is a huge database. It includes citations to journal articles from around the globe and in many different languages. You may want to limit your search to English language articles and those that are available "free full text."]

 

MedlinePlus
reliable, up-to-date patient-level information from the National Library of Medicine

 


Professional Societies

Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care
SCC's respiratory care program is accredited by CoARC. Program outcomes data including attrition, job placement, NBRC examination success, and on-time graduation rate. 

American Association for Respiratory Care
AARC is the only professional society for respiratory therapists in hospitals and with home care companies, managers of respiratory and cardiopulmonary services, and educators who provide respiratory care training.

National Board for Respiratory Care
The NBRC provides credentialing examinations and associated services to the respiratory community.

Respiratory Care Society of Washington
This society is a dedicated advocate of the concerns and for the advancement of the Respiratory Care Profession in Washington state and, through its affiliation with the AARC, at the national level.