Skip to main content
library banner

Library Database Troubleshooting: Database access problems

Use this guide if you are having problems accessing Library databases from off-campus

On-campus access only

The following databases are not accessible from computers off-campus:

  • ALLDATA
  • Identifix

Register to use all features of these databases

To fully use the features of these databases first you will need to register or create an account.  This is a simple and free process.

Library Databases Login

INSTRUCTIONS

When you click on one of the library Research Databases, you will be prompted to login. Use your username, which is your Bigfoot student email address, and your password, which likely is your nine-digit student ID number.

QUESTIONS?

  • If you are unable to login, contact a librarian as soon as possible. Librarians will make sure you are able to login.

  • You may also phone the college I.T. Help Desk during regular hours.

IT Help Desk: Technicians can reset your password to your student ID number. 509-533-HELP (4357)

 

Basic troubleshooting steps

To use SCC Library databases while off-campus, you must be a currently enrolled student or a current employee.

You must access databases from the SCC Library's website:

Library homepage

When you initially click on a database link you will be prompted to enter the username and password you have used to log onto campus computers or the campus WiFi.  If this does not work try the following troubleshooting procedures. After each step check to see if you can get into the databases.

  1. Delete the temporary Internet files (cache) from your browser. 
    Internet Explorer:  Tools (cog icon) / Internet Options / Browsing History / Delete / Temporary Internet Files / Delete
    Mozilla Firefox:  Tools (3 horizontal lines) / Clear Recent History / Details / Cache / Clear Now
    Google Chrome: Menu (3 vertical dots) / More tools / clear browsing data
  2. Delete cookies from your browser. 
    Internet Explorer:  Tools (cog icon) / Internet Options / Browsing History / Delete / Cookies / Delete 
    Mozilla Firefox:  Tools (3 horizontal lines) / Clear Recent History / Details / Cookies / Clear Now
    Google Chrome: Menu (3 vertical dots) / More tools / clear browsing data
  3. Enable cookies from the site (database) in question. 
    Internet Explorer:  Tools (cog icon) / Internet Options / Privacy / Settings - Sites
    Mozilla Firefox: Tools (3 horizontal lines) / Options / Privacy and Security / Cookies and site data / Manage permissions
    Google Chome: Menu (3 vertical dots) / Settings / Privacy and security / Cookies and other data / Sites that can always use cookies
  4. If you have a firewall, adjust the settings to allow an exception for the site (database) in question.
  5. If pop-up windows are not displaying allow an exception for the site (database) in question.
    Internet Explorer:  Tools / Internet Options / Privacy / Turn on Pop-Up Blocker
    Mozilla Firefox:  Menu (3 vertical dots) / Options / Privacy & Security / Permissions / Block Pop-Up Windows - Exceptions