Skip to main content
library banner

Welding & Fabricating: Research Tools

Periodicals: Magazines, Trade Journals, & Scholarly Journals

SCC Library has magazines, trade publications and other periodicals which students may borrow. Many are also available online in SCC Library databases Associates Programs Source Plus, Academic Search Complete, and ProQuest.

Print periodicals in the library:

  • Popular science
  • Popular mechanics

Examples of periodicals in Associates Programs Source Plus:

  • Welding Design & Fabrication
  • Welding International
  • Gasses and Welding Distributor
  • Indian Welding Journal
  • Welding & Cutting
  • Paton Welding Journal
  • Science & Technology of Welding and Joining
  • World of Welding
  • Welded Steel Tube & Pipe Monthly
  • Fabricating & Metalworking

Examples of periodicals in ProQuest:

  • Welding Design & Fabrication
  • Soldering & Surface Mount Technology 
  • Fabricating & Metalworking 

Searching for Articles in Library Databases

Search in library databases for articles on topics of your choice.

Search tips:

KEYWORDS: Use keywords in your searching. Select words you predict will appear in an article title or description.

PHRASES: Use phrase searching for a phrase of two words or more. Enclose a phrase in quotation marks.

TRUNCATION: Truncate search terms using and asterisk. The search term:  fabricat*  will retrieve instances of any word starting with f-a-b-r-i-c-a-t, like fabricate, fabricator, fabricating, etc.

BOOLEAN OPERATORS: Combine multiple search concepts using Boolean terms: AND, OR, NOT

Example searches:

"tig welding" 

"laser welding"

"brazing alloys"

"arc welding" and trends

welding and women

welding and career*

"employee retention"

"employee morale" and welding

Books and eBooks

   Welding Fabrication & Repair cover art    Fabrication and Welding Engineering cover art    Metalworking Careers cover art

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
  • Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

  • Welding
  • Welded joints
  • Laser welding
  • Metal-work
  • Airplanes--Welding
  • Electric welding
  • Oxyacetylene welding and cutting

Reference books include:

  • How Products Are Made: An Illustrated Guide to Product Manufacturing
  • International Building Code

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is an SCC Library database (accessible from home with SID). Here are just a few eBook titles you will find in our SCC Library Catalog and in this database:

  • Pipe Welding Procedures
  • Opportunities in Metal-Working Careers
  • McGraw-Hill Machining and Metalworking Handbook
  • Standard Handbook to Machine Design