Skip to main content

Entrepreneurship: Research Tools

Partner Collections: Spokane Business Library

Spokane Business Library

‚ÄčStudents and area residents can use a rich source of business and entrepreneurship information using Spokane Business Library. Our area is very lucky to have access to this extensive collection of business research tools. Use them in conjunction with SCC Library resources, and consult with SCC Librarians for research help.

Spokane Business Library

 

 

 

 

ACCESS FOR SCC STUDENTS:  If you don't have an active library card from an area public library, contact the SCC library to get a free access card. This card will allow you to search online to find all types of business information including:

  • Market research
  • Customer demographics
  • Business plans
  • Information about competing businesses 
  • Statistics, and more!

This highly valuable collection of business databases is made available through a collaboration between Spokane Public Library, Spokane County Library District, and Eastern Washington U. http://www.spokanebusiness.org

Resource Name

Why/When should I use this resource?

 

Tutorial Videos and Walk-thru Documents

Reference USA

 

  • Market Analysis
  • Business to Business Sales Leads
  • Consumer Lifestyles Profiles

 

 

Business Source Complete

  • Business Journals and Magazines
  • Market Trends and Conditions

Demographics Now

  • Analyzing Market Size and Demographics
  • Finding Your Competition
  • Assessing Market Risk
  • Choosing a Business Location

 

 

First Research Industry Profiles (Available through ProQuest)

  • Industry Profiles summarizing overview of market.
  •  

 

 

 

Statista

  • Statistics and Studies from more than 22,500 Sources

Ibis World

  • Industry data, analysis and forecasts at a more in-depth (and local) level.
  • Uncover state industry trends and performance and compare to national developments, or understand how local market conditions affect profitability and success.

Buxton

  •  
  •  

Bloomberg

  •  
  •  

Spokane's Journal of Business

Come to the SCC Library to read this core business periodical for the Spokane region.

Also see the journal's website to keep up with what's current in area business news.

Books

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
  • Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

  • Entrepreneurship
  • Small business - Management
  • New business enterprises - Canada
  • Business planning
  • Success in business
  • Venture capital
  • Business law
  • Incorporation
  • Trademarks

NOTE: Click WIN Borrow in the Library Catalog to find books located at partner libraries 

Here is just a sample of the types of books available in the SCC Library:

Databases

Search our BUSINESS databases to find all types of information (articles, e-videos, ebooks, etc.).

  • Students must login to access databases from off campus.
  • Non-students must visit the library to use our databases.

Ask a librarian for help if you are not finding what you need.


ProQuest  Collection of articles and other information covering all subjects, not just business and entrepreneurship. Librarians can help you do an advanced search to find company profiles.

Academic Search Complete  Article database of 1000s of periodicals which cover all topics

Company & industry reports: ABI Inform

Use Library Databases, like ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry to get market and industry reports, like those from Business Monitor International (BMI) and Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry profiles. This database also contains company, country, and commodity reports and numerous articles, newsletters, and other reports.

 To see the full list of research tools, click on the BROWSE link near the top of the ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry page.

Browse Featured Content includes:

 

Industry and Market Research

  • Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports
  • First Research

Country Reports - Browse reports on business conditions in countries:

  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Finance & Forecast Reports

Commodity Reports - Browse reports on global commodity trends:

  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industrial Raw Materials
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Food, Feedstuff, and Beverages

Company Reports - Browse reports on specific companies:

  • ProQuest Annual Reports Collection

Topic Paths - Select a topic path to find readings and targeted searches:

  • Business & Industry
  • Computers & Internet
  • Economics & Trade
  • Government & Law
  • Environment
  • Social Issues & Policy

Market Research

       

(Ask for these at the Reference Desk) 

Journal of Business: Book of Lists (current year)

Contains data useful for identifying contacts, targeting sales leads, compiling mailing lists, viewing growth markets in our region, researching competitors

Journal of Business: Market Fact Book (current year)

Market research data from Spokane County and selected areas of Kootenai County.

Spokane Vitals (also online)

From Greater Spokane Incorporated lists 20 economic indicators including: business growth, education, annual wages and other quality of life measures

Other Libraries

Spokane Public Library has other Books and Databases, plus excellent research guides:

eBooks & eAudio

eBooks & e-audioBooks are available in library databases. These are books that you can read or listen to entirely online.

To access:

  1. From the Library Homepage
  2. select Library Databases then choose either:
  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) 
  • Audiobook Collection (EBSCOhost)
  • OneClickdigital (audiobooks)

Students: access from off-campus requires login

Non-students: contact a librarian to enquire about access

You'll find 100s of business and entrepreneurship related ebooks & e-audiobooks

Get research help any time from the SCC Library

Contact us any time!  Librarians are eager to help.


In-person

SCC Library, Bldg. 16

                         

 

Phone

(509) 533-8821

(800) 248-5644 x8821

           

email

 
 24/7

 Live chat