Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business: Books

Types of books you should use in your research

When conducting research, you'll want to use information in reference books, and circulating books. The SCC Library has both print and ebook collections.  

PRINT BOOKS

  To find print books on your topic, use the library Search box or browse the library shelves in   these call number areas:

  • Business section: 650
  • Customer Service section: 658.812
  • Economics section: 330

eBOOKS

To find ebooks, you can use the library Search box or use the many library databases which contain ebooks.

 

Reference books

Reference Books, like encyclopedias and dictionaries, are a great first source to use when researching a new topic.Subject encyclopedias of business, economics, and other topics will: 

  • give you a summary, statistics, and history of your topic
  • identify major theories, research, and researchers on that topic
  • provide references to more credible sources you can use for further research

                 Business in Today's World cover     Encyclopedia of Small Business cover      International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences cover

Print reference books are located in the library 1st floor.

Electronic reference books are located in the following library databases:

eReference books: Gale Virtual Reference Library

x

The library database called Gale Virtual Reference Library has many business and economics encyclopedias covering a wide range of topics like these:

  • Customer services
  • Consumer needs and wants
  • Downsizing
  • Drug use in the workplace
  • Gender in the workplace
  •  Organizational behavior
  • Wage discrimination
  •  Company histories
  •  Industry profiles
  • eCommerce
  • Innovation
  • Glass ceiling
  • Industrial accidents
  • Drug testing
  • Effects of alcohol on productivity
  • Burnout
  • Overtime
  • Soft skills

Here are just a few of the titles in Gale Virtual Reference Library:

Circulating books

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Circulating books are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Working with Cultural Differences cover

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

  • Management
  • Customer service
  • Globalization
  • Discrimination in employment
  • Diversity in the workplace
  • Employee motivation
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Intercultural communication
  • Sexual harassment
  • Unemployment
  • Violence in the workplace
  • Work environment

eBooks & eAudiobooks

eBooks & eAudiobooks are also findable using library Search and are located in several library databases. Preparing a Winning Business Plan cover

These are books that you can read or listen to electronically. 

Explore the databases below, and contact an SCC Librarian for help if you have questions,

Example searches:

  • Business failures
  • Success in business
  • Business and risk
  • Business history