Research Guides: Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month: Books and eBooks

Books in the SCC Library

The following are just a few of the many Asian American and Pacific Islander books in the SCC Library. Search the SCC Library website to find more.

Asian American Histories of the United States by Catherine Ceniza Choy
Call Number: 973.0495 CHOY 2022
A nearly 200-year history of Asian migration, labor and community formation in the United States, historian Catherine Ceniza Choy presents an urgent social history of the fastest growing group of Americans.
Biting the Hand : growing up Asian in Black and White America by Julia Lee
Call Number: 979.494 LEE 2023
Julia Lee, daughter of Korean immigrant store owners in Los Angeles, was taught to be grateful for the privilege afforded to her. However, recent racial tension forced Julia to question her racial identity and complicity.
The Columbia Guide to Asian American history by Gary Y. Okihito
Call Number: 973.0495 OKIHIRO 2001
A compelling survey of 200 years of Asian-American experience, including reasons for migration to the United States, the anti-Chinese movement during the nineteenth century, and America's concentration camps during the Second World War.
Fierce and Fearless : Patsy Takemoto Mink, first woman of color in Congress by Judy Tzu-Chun Wu and Gwendolyn Mink
Call Number: 328.7309 WU 2022
Patsy Takemoto Mink (1927-2002) was a third generation Japanese American from Hawai'i, the first woman of color in Congress and the legislative champion of Title IX.
Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok
Call Number: 813.6 KWOK 2010
Caught between the pressure to succeed in America, her duty to their family, and her own personal desires, Kimberly Chang, an immigrant girl from Hong Kong, learns to constantly translate not just her language but herself between the worlds she straddles.
Also available as an eBook through EBSCOhost.
The Making of Asian America : a history by Erika Lee
Call Number: 973.0495 LEE 2015
The telling of the little-known history of Asian Americans, this book shows how generations of Asian immigrants and their American-born descendants have made and remade Asian American life in the United States.
Mambo in Chinatown : a novel by Jean Kwok
Call Number: 813.6 KWOK 2014
A fictional account of the daughter of a Beijing ballerina and a noodle maker who is torn between her family duties in Chinatown and her escape into the world of ballroom dancing.
Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City : a memoir by Jane Wong
Call Number: 974.985 WONG 2023
"Filled with beauty found in unexpected places, Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City is a resounding love song of the Asian American working class, a portrait of how we become who we are, and a story of lyric wisdom to hold and to share."
Nisei Daughter by Monica Itoi Sone
Call Number: 979.7772 SONE 2014
Monica Sone tells what it was like to grow up Japanese American on Seattle's waterfront in the 1930s and to be subjected to "relocation" during World War II.
The Rice Room : growing up Chinese-American from number two son to rock 'n' roll by Ben Fong-Torres
Call Number: 973.0495 FONG 2011
Ben Fong-Torres was torn between an alluring American lifestyle including Elvis and rock n roll and the traditional cultural heritage his proud immigrant parents struggled to instill in their five children.
A Shrug of the Shoulders by Elaine Cockrell
Call Number: 813.6 COCKREL 2022
Through multiple points of view and dozens of vivid settings, author Elaine Cockrell creates a mosaic of Japanese-American perseverance during their internment throughout World War II.
Sister Tongue by Farnaz Fatemi
Call Number: 811.6 FATEMI 2022
Sister Tongue explores negative spaces--the distance between twin sisters, between lovers, between Farsi and English, between the poet's upbringing in California and her family in Iran.
They Called Us Enemy by George Takei
Call Number: 940.5317 TAKEI 2019
A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II.
Virga by Shin Yu Pai
Call Number: 811.6 PAI 2021
Shin Yu Pai's eleventh collection of poems portrays Buddhist thought from lived experience and the reality of being an Asian American woman in America today.

Cookbooks!

Find these and other cookbooks in the 641.5 section of the SCC Library or on SCC Library's online database: Gale EBooks

Asian ingredients : a guide to the foodstuffs of China, Japan, Korea, Thailand, and Vietnam by Bruce Cost
A comprehensive and fascinating books on Asian foodstuffs. This book offers information on identifying and using the often unfamiliar ingredients in Asian cooking.
Authentic Vietnamese cooking : food from a family table by Corinne Trang
An introduction to regional Vietnamese cooking that represent the three distinct culinary regions of Vietnam: the Simple North, the Sophisticated Center, and the Spicy South.
The Breath of a Wok : unlocking the spirit of Chinese wok cooking through recipes and lore by Grace Young and Alan Richardson
The wok, embedded in Chinese culture, is the perfect pan for stir- and pan-frying, braising, boiling, and poaching. The author includes recipes that originate from dishes cooked within her extended family.
The Elephant Walk cookbook : Cambodian cuisine from the nationally acclaimed restaurant by Longteine De Monteiro and Katherine Neustadt
Boston restaurateur De Monteiro, who fled her native Cambodia in the mid-1970s, aims to both introduce and preserve traditional Cambodian cuisine to cooks around the world.
The Hakka Cookbook : Chinese Soul Food from around the World by Linda Lau Anusasananan
Call Number: eBook via SCC Library website
Hakka cooking, which the author likens to a nomadic type of "soul food," spans the globe, including Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia, the Pacific Islands, Canada, Peru, and beyond.
Madhur Jaffrey's step-by-step cooking : over 150 dishes from India and the Far East, including Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, and Malaysia by Madhur Jaffrey
Take a culinary tour of the Far East with Madhur Jaffrey. This cookbook contains more than 150 easy-to-follow recipes that gives a taste of Asian cuisine.
Revolutionary Chinese cookbook : recipes from Hunan Province by Fuchsia Dunlop
Call Number: 641.5951 DUNLOP 2007
Hunan is renowned for the fiery spirit of its people, its beautiful scenery, and its hearty peasant cooking.This cookbook includes a selection of classic recipes interwoven with a wealth of history, legend, and anecdote.

eBooks

To find and checkout eBooks and audiobooks, go to the SCC Library Databases A-Z page. Sign in to a database with your student or faculty email and password. Library eBook and Audiobook databases include:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150,000 ebooks from across the disciplines, including reference works and scholarly monographs
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A selection of ebooks for research, teaching and learning with content from leading publishers, and many titles available without restrictions.

eBooks through the SCC Library website

The following are only a few of the online books available to students and faculty through the SCC Library:

Globalization, nationalism, and music education in the twenty-first century in Greater China by Wai-Chung Ho
This book examines the recent developments in school education and music education in Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan and the relationship between, and integration of, national cultural identity and globalization in their respective school curriculums.
On the ROAD of the WINDS by Patrick Vinton Kirch
This online book synthesizes the grand sweep of human history in the Pacific Islands.
Racial difference and the colonial wars of 19th century Southeast Asia by Farish A. Noor, editor.; Carey, Peter, editor
A collection of critical essays focus on the colonial construction of race and looks at how the colonial wars in 19th century Southeast Asia were rationalized.
Reppin' : Pacific Islander Youth and Native Justice. by Keith Camacho
From hip-hop artists in the Marshall Islands to innovative multimedia producers in Vanuatu to racial justice writers in Utah, Pacific Islander youth are using radical expression to transform their communities.

Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

National Geographic

Local Public Libraries

Research help

Books in the SCC Library

Cookbooks!

eBooks

eBooks through the SCC Library website