Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Periodicals &amp; Article Databases

Periodical articles: SCC Library & beyond

Keep up-to-date by browsing professional periodicals (newsletters, trade journals, & scholarly journals) and by searching for articles on a particular topic.

Multiple ways to find articles:

Search library databases to quickly find articles on a particular topic*
Browse professional journals and other periodicals which are free online
Browse the small collection of print periodicals in the the library

Database Troubleshooting Guide
*Library databases require login. If you encounter login issues, try the remedies in this guide or contact a librarian for 24/7 Help.

Example periodicals in library databases

American Jails
American Journal of Criminal Justice: AJCJ
American Journal of Criminal Law
Corrections Today
Criminology
Cybersecurity Police Report
Forensic Magazine
Law Enforcement Technology
Law & Order
Journal of Criminal Justice Education
Journal of Family Violence
Policing
Social Justice
Violence and Victims

ProQuest This link opens in a new window

Blue Line Magazine
CACP Bulletin
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
International e-Journal of Criminal Sciences
Journal of Behavior Analysis of Offender & Victim: Treatment & Prevention
Journal of Criminal Investigation
Journal of Current Issues in Crime, Law & Law Enforcement
Journal of Offender Monitoring
Law Enforcement Product News
Law Enforcement Technology
Policing: A Journal of Policy & Practice
Sheriff
WomenPolice

Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Accessibility features
- Preview of the new EBSCO search: APSP

Criminal Justice Ethics
Contemporary Justice Review
Criminal Behaviour & Mental Health
Federal Probation
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
Harvard Journal on Racial & Ethnic Justice
International Journal of Evidence & Proof
International Journal of Police Science & Management
Journal of Investigative Psychology & Offender Profiling
Journal of Research in Crime & Delinquency
Legal & Criminological Psychology
Police Practice & Research
Security & Social Order Strategic Studies
Trends in Organized Crime

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Accessibility features of library databases: EBSCO Databases

Free online periodicals

Police Chief
Archive of downloadable issues: 2003 - present
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
Archive from 2010 to present, plus older issues (dating from 1933) available in PDF format.
National Institute of Justice (NIJ) Journal
The NIJ Journal, published several times a year, features articles to help criminal justice policymakers and practitioners stay informed about new developments. The NIJ Journal presents research-based information that can help inform policy decisions and improve understanding of the criminal justice system.
Police Magazine

NCJRS:National Criminal Justice Reference Service

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service brings together data, publications, news, and other information from the U.S. Office of Justice Programs.

The site is searchable, or you can browse by topic.

NCJRS Virtual Library: Database search
An index to over 200,000 criminal justice publications, including books, government and research reports, and journal articles from the early 1970s to the present, NCJRS includes links to full text documents when available. If you find a publication without full text, ask for it at the SCC library.

Search this database to find publications from gov't agencies, think tanks/research institutes, and trade/professional publications (intended for practitioners, i.e. police officers). Search a list of controlled vocabulary in the database that may help with searches.

Criminal Justice

Periodical articles: SCC Library & beyond

Suggested article databases

NOTE:

Example periodicals in library databases

Free online periodicals

NCJRS:National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Open-access journals & CJ article indexes