Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Communication Studies: General

Reference books

Scholarly encyclopedias are often the best first source to use when researching a new topic. The SCC library has several databases which contain reference books, including encyclopedias, on various topics like Communication Studies, Sociology, Linguistics, and Psychology.


Featured Encyclopedias:

Books

 stack of books

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
  • Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

  • Communication
  • Oral communication
  • Written communication
  • Visual communication
  • Interpersonal communication
  • Communication in families
  • Communication in marriage
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Communication - Sex differences
  • Communication in management
  • Communication in politics
  • Business communication
  • Human-Animal Communication
  • Intercultural communication
  • Body language
  • Nonverbal communication
  • Public speaking
  • Debates and debating
  • Forensics (Public speaking)
  • Oratory
  • Voice culture
  • Expression
  • Language
  • Language and languages--Sex differences
  • Semantics
  • Communication and culture
  • Mass media
  • Telecommunications
  • Communication and technology
  • Paralinguistics
  • Linguistics
  • Self-perception
  • Adult children of alcoholics
  • Parenting
  • Families
  • Fathers
  • Mothers
  • Single mothers
  • Discourse analysis
  • Conversation
  • Chomsky, Noam

You may search our partner libraries (Gonzaga U., Whitworth U., North Idaho College) for books. From the SCC Library search engine, use the dropdown arrow to change "CCS Libraries" to "Partner Libraries." Select the items to checkout and request that the items be sent to the SCC library or the rural center. If you are in a hurry, you may go to the partner library and checkout the items with your CCS Student ID card.

Find articles using SCC Library databases

Use research databases like Academic Search Complete and ProQuest  to find periodical articles in:

  • scholarly journals
  • magazines
  • newspapers

Try searches like these:

"facial expression" AND deception

"gender differences" AND "oral communication"

"mass media" AND anxiety

Videos

Search the library's video databases to find films like these and others. Reel of movie film

Streaming video databases:

About this guide

This guide features Communication Studies research resources.

In general, when we do research for college or in our profession, it's a good idea to use a variety of types of research sources. The three most common types of sources are:

  1. Books and ebooks in the SCC, SFCC, and partner library collections (including reference books like encyclopedias & e-encyclopedias),
  2. Articles in library databases or in open collections like Google Scholar,
  3. Websites which are from reputable publishers like those listed on this guide.

When conducting research for a speech, you may also want to include other types of sources like:

  • Images
  • Video clips
  • Music
  • Any information you find in library databases like reports, interviews, cultural information, primary historical resources, websites, etc.

You will find all these types of sources linked on the SCC Library homepage.

Don't find what you need? Ask a librarian any time of the day or night. We're available 24/7!