Research Guides: Communication Studies (General): For Faculty

Methods for seeking new books and other items to add to the college library collection

On this page are a few methods for exploring new items to add to the college library collection.

Some may require collaboration with a librarian or the creation of a login.

Contact an SCC librarian for more information: Janine Odlevak, library liaison to CMST faculty

Choice Reviews
(Ask Janine about login)
Reviews database of the Association of College & Research Libraries.
Audience: Academic library selectors.
Reviews of book, periodical, website, film, and database.
Choice Reviews: Example search

ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS)
This site is a springboard that librarians, students, and researchers can use to find information in the area of communication studies. It is not exhaustive; rather, it includes the core or primary resources within each category presented. The concept of subject guides to communication studies resources was originated by communication studies librarians serving as members of the Association of College and Research Libraries Educational and Behavioral Sciences Section Communication Studies Committee.

(suggestions welcome)

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and other reference books on a variety of subjects.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books on all topics. A great first source when researching a new topic. Gives background information, definitions, and links to additional sources.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks from across the disciplines, including reference works and scholarly monographs. Available on the EBSCO platform.

ProQuest: Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
eBooks from across the disciplines, including reference works.

(Ask Janine about logn.)

CMST journals & alerts: Book reviews (NCA journals and others)
CMST publisher catalog (suggestions welcome)
- Taylor & Francis (Publisher NCS journals; SCC doesn't have in our e-journals)
- Sage
- Elsievier
- National Communication Association

Signing-up for regular article alerts

Name	URL
ACRLog (a blog for academic and research librarians)	http://acrlog.org/
Against the Grain	http://www.against-the-grain.com/
ALA Award Winners	http://libguides.ala.org/recommended-reading/award-winners
Association of Colleges for Tutoring & Learning Assistance Collection Connection	http://www.collectionconnection.alcts.ala.org/
Booklist	https://www.booklistonline.com/
Booklist Reader	http://www.booklistreader.com/category/book-lists/
CC Advisor	http://www.choice360.org/products/ccadvisor
Charleston Advisor	http://www.charlestonco.com/
Choice Reviews	http://www.choice360.org/products/reviews
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries	http://www.ala.org/acrl/choice/
Goodreads	https://www.goodreads.com/
Information Today Newsbreaks	http://newsbreaks.infotoday.com/
Joe Wikert's Publishing 2020	http://jwikert.typepad.com/
Library Journal	http://lj.libraryjournal.com/
New York Times Book Review	https://www.nytimes.com/section/books/review
No Shelf Required	http://www.noshelfrequired.com/
Publishers Weekly	https://www.publishersweekly.com/
Publishing Trends	http://www.publishingtrends.com/
Resources for College Libraries	http://rclweb.net/
Shelf Awareness	http://www.shelf-awareness.com/
W.W. Norton	http://books.wwnorton.com/books/index.aspx