Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Communication Studies: Intercultural Comm.

About this guide

Use this guide to research intercultural communication. If you are interested in researching cultures & countries, music, history, or art, see those related research guides as well.

Reference books

Books about culture, etiquette, and countries are generally shelved in these call number areas:

  • 300
  • 390
  • 900

Use the library databases to access ebooks including e-encyclopedias.

Books

       It's All Chinese to Me book cover   Culture Shock: India book cover

Search the SCC/SFCC library collection to find books on subjects like these:

  • Intercultural communication
  • Nonverbal communication
  • Cultural conflict
  • Etiquette
  • Business etiquette
  • Rites of passage
  • Intercultural marriage
  • Marriage customs and rites
  • Funeral rites and ceremonies
  • Japan
  • Japan - Religion
  • Japan - Intellectual life
  • Japan - Social life and customs
  • National characteristics, Chinese
  • Culture shock - China
  • Aboriginal Australians
  • Aboriginal Australians - Social life and customs
  • Africa, North - Social life and customs
  • Medical care - Cross-cultural studies
  • Transcultural nursing
  • Firearms owners
  • Bicycle commuting

Remember to also search "Partner Libraries," then request that books be sent to the SCC Library for pickup.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Try simple searches to find an ebook on the topic of your country or culture of interest. 

For some cultures, there are books from the Culture Shock series and another series called Culture Smart.

Example searches:

  •  China  AND  culture
  •  China  AND  etiquette
  •  Ireland  AND  society
  • "Culture Shock"  AND  Paris
  • "Culture Smart"  AND  Spain

Everybody's Ethnic

Databases: Best bets

Research Databases are available from the SCC Library homepage. Scroll down and click on Research Databases. Use them to find ebooks, art images, music, streaming video, articles, and more.

  book cover   A to Z the world cover art    Cultures and daily life cover art

(Citation hint: Most libraries have citation generators making it simple to cite information you find.)

Articles & more: SCC Library databases

Use library databases like Academic Search Complete and ProQuest to find articles in:

  • scholarly journals
  • magazines
  • newspapers

Try searches like these:

   "nonverbal communication" AND japan

   "intercultural communication" AND japanese

   "bicycle culture" AND (denmark OR danes OR danish)

   "conversational distance" OR proxemics

   "Hall's context"

Example journals in ProQuest

When researching Intercultural Communication, you will find articles by scholars in many fields including: Communication Studies, Psychology, Linguistics, Business, Health Sciences, and the Social Sciences in general. Here is a sampling of some of the journals you will find in ProQuest which will include articles about communication between cultures:

• Cross-Cultural Communication

• Language in Society

• Asian Culture and History

• Journal of Third World Studies

• International Journal of Psychological Studies

• Health Communication

• Journal of Multicultural Nursing & Health

• Human Studies

• Sex Roles

Example articles:

"Cultural In-Group Advantage: Emotion Recognition in African American and European American Faces and Voices"

Wickline, Virginia B, Bailey, Wendy; Nowicki, Stephen

The Journal of Genetic Psychology 170. 1  (Mar 2009): 5-29.

The authors explored whether there were in-group advantages in emotion recognition of faces and voices by culture or geographic region.

"Peregrinations into the paralanguage of Espana"

Lavin, Audrey A P.

Journal of Popular Culture 27. 4  (Spring 1994): 117.

Studies of space as a form of paralanguage are discussed. Some ignored areas of symbolic interaction between Spaniards and North Americans are examined.