Research Guides: Disability Justice: Books

Disability Justice Books & eBooks

These are just a few of the books in the SCC Library and on the SCC Library website. Search the SCC Library Catalog for more resources.

Blackness and Disability by Christopher M. Bell (Editor)
Call Number: 305.908 BLACKNE 2011
"The work of reading black and disabled bodies is not only recovery work, but work that requires a willingness to deconstruct the systems that would keep those bodies in separate spheres. This pivotal volume uncovers the misrepresentations of black disabled bodies and demonstrates how those bodies transform systems and culture."
Brilliant Imperfection: Grappling with the Cure by Eli Clare
Call Number: 305.908 CLARE 2017
"... Eli Clare uses memoir, history, and critical analysis to explore cure—the deeply held belief that body-minds considered broken need to be fixed."
Capitalism and Disability: Selected Writings by Marta Russell
Publication Date: 2019
eBook
Essays from late author and activist Marta Russell. A useful and expansive resource to those interested in better understanding the ways in which the modern phenomenon of disability is shaped by capitalist economic and social relations.
Decarcerating Disability: Deinstitutionalization and Prison Abolition by Liat Ben-Moshe
Call Number: 365.647 BEN MOS 2020
Liat Ben-Moshe provides case studies that show how prison abolition is not an unattainable goal but rather a reality, and how it plays out in different arenas of incarceration—antipsychiatry, the field of intellectual disabilities, and the fight against the prison-industrial complex.
Disability and Justice: The Capabilities Approach in Practice by Christopher A. Riddle
Publication Date: 2016
eBook
This book critiques the capabilities approach and claims that it is "unable to properly diagnose both those who are in need as well as the extent to which assistance is required."
A Disability History of the United States by Kim E. Nielsen
Call Number: 362.4097 NIELSEN 2012
"... pulls from primary-source documents and social histories to retell US history through the eyes, words, and impressions of the people who lived it. As historian and disability scholar Nielsen argues, to understand disability history isn’t to narrowly focus on a series of individual triumphs but rather to examine mass movements and pivotal daily events through the lens of varied experiences."
Feminist, Queer, Crip by Alison Kafer
Call Number: 362.401 KAFER 2013
[Both Print & eBook available]

"... Alison Kafer imagines a different future for disability and disabled bodies. Challenging the ways in which ideas about the future and time have been deployed in the service of compulsory able-bodiedness and able-mindedness, Kafer rejects the idea of disability as a pre-determined limit. ... This bold book goes against the grain of normalization and promotes a political framework for a more just world."
Nothing about Us, Without Us: Disability Oppression and Empowerment by James I. Charlton
Call Number: SFCC Non Fiction 323.3087 CHARLTO (1998)
[Both Print & eBook available]

"...the first book in the literature on disability to provide a theoretical overview of disability oppression that shows its similarities to, and differences from, racism, sexism, and colonialism."

eBook and Audiobook databases at the SCC Library

The SCC Library subscribes to eBook and Audiobook databases that you may access from anywhere with your student logon information (see Library Account Logon information in the left column of this page). You may have to create an account with EBSCOhost:

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

More Disability Awareness Books in the SCC Library

Beauty Is a Verb: The New Poetry of Disability by Sheila Black, Jennifer Bartlett, & Michael Northen (Editors)
Call Number: 811.608 BEAUTY 2011
This book of poetry is a deep exploration of contemporary verse and thought expressed through a disability perspective.
Criptiques by Caitlin Wood (Editor)
Call Number: 305.908 CRIPTIQ 2014
"... a groundbreaking collection of essays by disabled authors examining the often overlooked, provocative sides of disability. Exploring themes of gender, sexuality, disability/crip culture, identity, ableism and much more, this important anthology provides much needed space for thought-provoking discourse from a highly diverse group of writers."
Disability and Passing: Blurring the Lines of Identity by Jeffrey A. Brune & Daniel J. Wilson (Editors)
Call Number: 305.908 DISABIL 2013
"Passing - an act usually associated with disguising race - also relates to disability. Whether a person classified as mentally ill struggles to suppress aberrant behavior to appear normal or a person intentionally takes on a disability identity to gain some advantage, passing is a pervasive and much-discussed phenomenon. Nevertheless, Disability and Passing is the first anthology to examine this issue."
Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century by Alice Wong (Editor)
Call Number: 305.908 WONG 2020
"A groundbreaking collection of first-person writing on the joys and challenges of the modern disability experience: Disability Visibility brings together the voices of activists, authors, lawyers, politicians, artists, and everyday people whose daily lives are, in the words of playwright Neil Marcus, "an art . . . an ingenious way to live."
Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign against Sign Language by Douglas C. Baynton
Call Number: 419 BAYNTON 1996
[Both Print & eBook available.]

".... explores American culture from the mid-nineteenth century to 1920 through the lens of one striking episode: the campaign led by Alexander Graham Bell and other prominent Americans to suppress the use of sign language among deaf people."
Haben: The Deafblind Woman Who Conquered Harvard Law by Haben Girma
Call Number: 340.092 GIRMA 2019
Inside Deaf Culture by Carol A. Padden & Tom L. Humphries
Call Number: 305.9082 PADDEN 2006
Uncanny Bodies: Superhero Comics and Disability by Scott T. Smith &vJosé Alaniz (Editors)
Call Number: 741.5352 UNCANNY 2019

More Disability eBooks from the SCC Library

What We Have Done: An Oral History of the Disability Rights Movement by Fred Pelka
Publication Date: 2012
Designing Disability: Symbols, Space, and Society by Elizabeth Guffey
Publication Date: 2017
"...traces the emergence of an idea and an ideal – physical access for the disabled."
The Disability Studies Reader by Lennard J. Davis (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
"... breaks new ground by emphasizing the global, transgender, homonational, and posthuman conceptions of disability. Including physical disabilities, but exploring issues around pain, mental disability, and invisible disabilities, this edition explores more varieties of bodily and mental experience."
Queer Crips: Disabled Gay Men and Their Stories by Bob Guter, John R. Killacky, & John P. De Cecco
Publication Date: 2014
"features ... first-hand accounts from a variety of perspectives, illuminating the reality of the everyday struggle disabled gay men face in a culture obsessed with conformist good looks. Themes include rejection, love, sex, dating rituals, gaycrip married life, and the profound difference between growing up queer and disabled, and suffering a life-altering injury or illness in adulthood.
Crip Times: Disability, Globalization, and Resistance by Robert McRuer
Publication Date: 2018
"...Robert McRuer asks how disability activists, artists and social movements generate change and resist the dominant forms of globalization in an age of austerity, or “crip times.”
Disability in Higher Education: A Social Justice Approach by Nancy J. Evans; Ellen M. Broido; Kirsten R. Brown; Autumn K. Wilke
Publication Date: 2017
"...examines how disability is conceptualized in higher education and ways in which students, faculty, and staff with disabilities are viewed and served on college campuses."

Library Account Logon

If you are off-campus, you will need to sign in to use library databases:

Select the database you want to search.

Enter your Bigfoot account username and password. (Note: This is not the same as your CANVAS username.)

Example: JaneD1234 (First name, first letter of last name, last 4 digits of student ID number.)
Password: ********* (usually your student ID number.)

You will then be directed to the database search screen.

Need help? Contact the CCS IT Student Helpdesk or contact the library

Librarian help

Questions about research, citation, login, or other?

Contact a librarian any time!

Live chat 24/7

509-533-8821

Visit during library hours

Schedule meeting (F2F;Zoom)