Education: Home

Reference books, like encyclopedias and dictionaries, are a good first source to use when research a new topic. Encyclopedias, like the examples below, give you an overview of your topic and its history, and will lead you to additional sources.

Encyclopedia databases:

Example encyclopedias & example entry:

Library databases contain all types of media, including periodical articles (from newspapers, magazines, & journals).

E ERICE  

Try starting your article search in ERIC, the pre-eminent article index for EDUCATION topics. 

[NOTE: If you find articles that are not full text, ask a librarian for the article. 24/7 librarian chat]

Article databases for researching Education & related topics:

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

• Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor in the call number area 370-370.9999.
• Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

• Cognitive styles
• Learning
• Learning, Psychology of
• Memory
• Early Childhood Education
• Affective Education
• Social Learning

If books are located at another partner library, you can request that they be sent to SCC for you.

Want ebooks?

Try these library databases which contain only ebooks:

Example books & ebooks:

Try these resources when researching education systems in different countries.

Also:

• Consult websites which come directly from a country's department of education.
• As always, ask a librarian if your're not finding the information you need.

Websites from credible, trustworthy creators are important sources of information to use in your research.

Websites suggested by your SCC librarians:

Some entries in this scholarly encyclopedia are available for free.

FULL LIST OF FREE ENTRIES FROM ORE: EDUCATION

Here are example topics which may be of interest: