|
SCC librarians collect data through regular, annual meetings between liaison librarians and their departments or divisions. Feedback is gathered during meetings, and an online follow-up survey is sent immediately after the meeting to collect further data. [Data from the online survey is maintained by SCC IR Dept.] Opening text for follow-up survey Department Meeting Follow-UP Survey Thank you for including the SCC Library in your recent department meeting. This short survey is intended as follow-up from that meeting. Your feedback is important as it will help us continually improve library services, resources, and instruction. Thank you in advance for taking the time to respond. Feel free to contact anyone in the library with questions you may have, [Signed _______________] CCS Library Services, SCC Reference Desk: 533-8821 Core Questions for Annual Department Meetings
|
Library Liaison, Faculty Survey: CIS (2017-2018)
Thank you in advance for responding to our survey. Your input will inform services, instruction, and resources led by library faculty.
- From Janine Odlevak, CCS Library Services at SCC: Instructional Services Librarian & Liaison to CIS Faculty, x7046
--------------------------------------
1. What do you think of current library services, instruction, and resources (including the library's book & periodical collections)?
2. What feedback do you have about how the library can better serve you and your students?
Communication
3. What suggestions do you have about how the library can improve communication with faculty in your department?
Questions?
4. What questions do you have about library services, instruction, and/or resources? (Leave your name below if you'd like a direct answer.)
Rate us
5. How would you rate your overall satisfaction with CCS Library Services at SCC?
1. VERY SATISFIED
2. NEUTRAL
3. NOT SATISFIED
I don't know enough about Library Services to give a rating
Other:
We're happy to contact you
6. If you'd like a librarian to contact you, leave your name. (If you prefer to remain anonymous, answers to your above questions will be sent to your chairperson for dissemination to dept. faculty.)
Thank you!
7. Results of this survey will be anonymized and logged on the SCC Librarians ASSESSMENT LOG along with notes about any actions taken as a result of dept. faculty input. http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/log/LiaisonLog
| Dept./Division | Date | Librarian | Feedback | Actions Taken |
| Math | April 2019 | JO |
Meeting handout |
Message to fac. re: ebook collections
|
| DSS | 19 March 2019 | JO |
Discussion with DSS manager Conferred regarding: - Disability Month, Oct. 2019: Planning timeline for DSS/Library programming - Suggestions for DSS contribution to Library Program Review - DSS shared Student learning outcomes with SCC librarians |
Disability month planning (include library circ manager)
Will ask for feedback from DSS manager on our program review draft as seen from the lens of DSS |
| Newport | Fall 2019 | JO |
Visited Center to weed collection and discuss resource needs, plus other library services to Center. Predominant request: staff and faculty desired more current titles in the collection. We agreed on piloting a 25-30 title sub-collection which would rotate quarterly and be populated from the SCC new books collection. Conducted research assistance training with tutors and tutoring center manager. Updated signage and informational brochures/bookmarks. Center manager reported that reserve textbook needs and laptop/hotspot needs were satisfactory. No action required. No new titles for library were requested. |
Weeded about 50 titles which were withdrawn from collection. Commenced planning of sub-collection pilot. |
| Newport | ongoing | JO |
In coordination with Center manager, piloting a quarterly, rotating sub-collection of approx. 25 titles (mostly new books) to be housed at Newport. Several shared docs created: |
Executing rotation of sub-collection.. Check-in with Center manager re. status of pilot. Shared documentation for coordinating processes. Winter check-outs from sub-collection are estimated: 3 total. (Check-out process is not automated. ALMA data indicates 3.) No student feedback forms were collected Manager sent illustrated notification to students to promote sub-collection use. |
| TLC | ongoing | JO | Coordinating sub-collection service for TLC of faculty professional dev. books, periodicals, and online content. |
Rotate collection each quarter. Research guide collaboration with TLC director. Fall: Purchased several titles in support of TLC. Fliers, informational brochures created and placed the Center. |
| English | March 2019 | TA/JO | Met with Composition director and faculty members to discus refreshing ENGL 101 library session outcomes and lesson plan. | Will attend all faculty dept. meeting in April to continue discussions of aligning library outcomes with updated ENGL dept. Student-Learning-Outcomes. |
| Math | 26 April 2019 | JO | Annual update for Math faculty library services |
| Dept./Division | Date | Librarian | Feedback | Actions Taken | ||||||||||||||||||
| DSS | 9/26/17 | Janine |
DSS is interested in partnering with the library to promote library workshops in their office. SCC library had previously agreed to provide signage directing users to the DSS resource room, but the signs were never acquired. They ask that this signage be posted in the library. |
Forwarded repeat request to library administration for directional signs to DSS resource room Acquired series of ASL videos Provided library handouts for DSS office |
||||||||||||||||||
| HEQ | 10/20/17 | Janine | Dept. faculty are interested in library assistance with VHS collection conversion | Provided resources in support of converting and/or updating educational video collection | ||||||||||||||||||
| Criminal Justice | 10/17 | Janine | New dept. faculty are interested in Reserve books for students |
Outreach to new faculty Notified faculty of new title acquisitions and research guide Communicated Reserve book procedure with faculty |
||||||||||||||||||
| Counseling | 12/1/17 | Janine |
Counseling annual meeting - F17 Handout
|
More concerted outreach to rural center GUID instructors. | ||||||||||||||||||
| Tech Ed (Chairs) | 1/16/2018 | Janine |
no survey results No feedback |
|||||||||||||||||||
| Math | 3/8/2018 | Janine |
Faculty stated that they observe how students find laptop and WiFi equipment loan from library to be a crucial resource. 2 faculty responded to the online survey (see attached results). Note that annual meeting is acknowledged as a useful means of communication. "Keep it up." Also of note, faculty appreciation of library "staff" in addition to information resources. |
|||||||||||||||||||
| APLED 121 | 4/9/2018 | Janine | Revisit APLED 121 IL outcomes and programming | |||||||||||||||||||
| CIS | 5/3/2018 | Janine |
|
|||||||||||||||||||
| Fire Sci | 5/29/18 | Janine |
2 new faculty (as of 2017 Fall) Liaison handout (w/accreditation)
|
List of requested items processed. Investigating additional materials from core publishers:
|
||||||||||||||||||
| Electronics | 6/4/18 | Janine | OER collaboration | Full OER presentation and support | ||||||||||||||||||
| HEALTH - PE | Fall | Janine | OER collaboration | Full OER presentation and support | ||||||||||||||||||
| [TLC] | Year | Melinda/Janine | Sub-collection collaboration | ongoing |
| Department / Division | Date | Librarian | Feedback | Actions Taken | ||||
|
|
||||||||
| Tech Ed Division - Dept Chairs meeting | Fall 2016 | NAC | Update on library services and resources including Primo | Multiple departments were represented at this meeting; some of the comments were passed on to another liaison librarian for follow-up |
|
|||
| Math | 05/20/16 | JO |
|
|||||
| Counseling Dept. | 05/13/16 | JO |
|
Online survey results: 3 respondents: What do you think of current library resources, services, and/or instruction? How would you rate library services overall? Other comments: - Thank you!!!! :) - Keep doing what you are doing. |
|
|||
| Disability Student Services |
4/28/16
|
JO |
|
|
||||
| Communication Studies |
4/21/20016 |
JO |
|
|
| Department / Division | Date | Librarian | Feedback | Actions Taken | ||||
| Counseling | 12/1/17 | JO |
|
|
||||
| English | 6/1/15 | TO (JO) |
|
|||||
| Business | Spring 5/15/15 | JO | Faculty were interested in new databases and had suggestions for using Public and County Library databases in conjunction with SCC databases. There is strong interest in having a Avoiding Plagiarism learning object which faculty can assign to students. |
I contributed a unit on Avoiding Plagiarism to Canvas Commons for CCS use and sent a message to dept. chair inviting faculty to contribute feedback and\or partner with me in applying and adapting the unit. |
||||
| Math |
Winter 2/27/2015 |
JO |
Faculty wanted to learn more about how to place books on reserve. They stated that they were happy with library service provided this year in support of a grant research project. |
Sent follow-up email to chair clarifying questions about reserve process. | ||||
| Social Sciences / Humanities |
Fall 11/21/20014 |
NAC | Will follow up on streaming video options for faculty. They are interested in streaming titles that we currently have as VHS |
| Department / Division | Date | Librariann | Feedback | Actions Taken |
| Business Technology | 3/7/14 | TA | Department Meeting Notes - Business Technology - 2014 |
purchased more books on nonprofits replied to faculty about using Zotero |
| English | 5/30/14 | TA | Department Meeting Notes - English - 2014 |
replied to faculty regarding OED app described procedure for weeding VHS tapes to faculty |
| Counseling | 5/9/2014 | JO | Department Meeting Notes - Counselors - 2014 |
met with GUID101 instructors to explore library resources they can use to augment their instruction; suggested newer videos to replace older editions updated counselors on how to access reserve list (will remind quarterly) old careers videos weeded researched request of reserve textbooks for Running Start students and reported response to counselors created e-signs for library workshops; forwarded to library admin. the feedback regarding desire for more marketing info. |
| Engineering/Architectural Technology | 4/14/2014 | JO | Department Meeting Notes - Engineering/Architecture- 2014 |
sent quarterly Library Instruction news to All Faculty |
| Tech Ed Division - Dept Chairs meeting | 5/27/2014 | NAC | Multiple departments were represent at this meeting; some of the comments were passed on to another liaison librarian for follow-up |