Research Guides: Psychology: Research Tools

Research Tools

Books

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor.
Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

Psychology
Psychology, Pathological
Personality disorders
Child development
Toddlers, Development
Adolescent psychology
Adulthood, Psychological aspects
Social development
Cognitive development
Counseling
Depression
Emotions
Emotions in adolescence
Freud, Sigmund
Erikson, Erik

Neurochemistry
Neuroscience
Neurotheology
Cognition
Brain - Physiology
Brain - Psychology
Stress (Psychology)
Stress (Physiology)
Perceptions
Self
Consciousness
Awareness
Mental health
Schizophrenia
Manic-depressive illness

MORE OPTIONS:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), an SCC Library database, contains 1000s of ebooks covering all topics.

Reference Books: examples Here are some print and ebook examples of subject encyclopedias in Psychology:

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Publication Date: 2019
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Irving B. Weiner
Call Number: R 150.3 CORSINI 2010

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window

Library Databases

eEncyclopedia Databases Drawing of person with complex brain

Start your research by consulting subject encyclopedias of Psychology or Mental Health or other subjects. You will find:

a definition of your topic
and overview and history
references to other expert research on that topic

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window

Article Databases (and more)

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Accessibility features of library databases: EBSCO Databases
ERIC This link opens in a new window

Print periodicals

Most Psychology periodicals (magazines & journals) can be found in ProQuest or Academic Search Complete and other SCC Library databases. We also have some in print which students may borrow:

Psychology Today cover

Psychology Today
American Psychologist (published by APA)
Developmental Psychology (published by APA)
Journal of Abnormal Psychology (published by APA) (subscription until 2013 only)

Websites

American Psychological Association: Psychology Topics
Classics in the History of Psychology
Social Psychology Network
National Institute of Mental Health
Information on mental disorders, plus reports, statistics, and news

Psychology in the news

See daily news items from the American Psychological Association

Finding Journal Articles

Articles in library databases

You can find Psychology articles by searching SCC Library databases which contain periodicals (magazines, journals, and newspapers). The databases listed below index Psychology periodicals. (Many of the Psychology journals indexed in these academic databases are peer-reviewed.)

NOTE: If you find an article citation and the full text of the article is not attached, request the article by contacting the SCC Library directly. We will obtain the article for you.

Start your search for articles at the SCC Library homepage. Select one of the following databases:

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and other psychology publishers
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers. Includes some multimedia: videos, blogs, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers
Accessibility features of library databases: EBSCO Databases
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, reports, books, and other information sources in the fields of education, child development, and education related topics

[If you find items which are not full-text, request them through interlibrary loan or contact a librarian for help.]

Open Access Journals (and more)

Customizing Google Scholar for SCC Databases This video will show you how to customize your settings in Google Scholar to identify articles available through SCC library databases.

Google Scholar
Find scholarly articles. Full text may not be available.
PubPsych
PubPsych is a free information retrieval system for psychological resources. It offers a comprehensive and balanced selection of resources from a growing number of international databases with a European focus, covering the needs of academic and professional psychologists.
DOAJ
Directory of Open Access Journals: All subjects especially Science and Medicine represented here

About APA Journals

The American Psychological Association publishes many peer-reviewed journals in the various subfields of Psychology.

You can find these journals at the APA website. Most of the articles cannot be viewed on this website without a paid subscription, so, if you find an article you want, contact the SCC Library and request that we get it for you. (There are some free sample articles available from each journal.)

The SCC Library has subscriptions to three APA journals:

American Psychologist

Developmental Psychology

Journal of Abnormal Psychology (SCC Library print collection stopped in 2013)

Issues can be found in the library and can be checked out for your convenience.

PsycNet
This is a searchable index that let's you search for articles published in APA journals. You won't be able to login, but you can search as a New User. If you find an article you want, you can request it through this ILL (InterLibrary Loan) form.