Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not finding what you need?
Having trouble using the library databases?
Then it’s probably time to ask a librarian for some help.
Tim Aman, SCC Librarian
If you need immediate help, contact a librarian any time using our online chat service.
(Evenings and weekends you may be chatting with a librarian from another college. Ask for an SCC librarian to contact you for follow-up if needed.)
Finding the full text of an article
What do you do if you find a useful journal article that doesn't have the full text?
The SCC Library can help. We can find another library that subscribes to the journal and have them email us the article, then we'll send it on to you. That's called an interlibrary loan.
You can request an interlibrary loan by contacting a librarian (see above for librarian help options) or using the Interlibrary Loan Request form.
Recommended Sources and Searching Tips
The purpose of this research guide is to help students in MaryMargaret Bowmer's SONO 132 class find credible and evidence-based information sources. This guide will suggest useful sources, search techniques and evaluation methods for researching abdominal pathophysiology.
RESEARCH TIP: Keep a list of words that describe your topic and add to it as you come across new words. Try different combinations of words to see what produces the best results. For example:
sonography, ultrasound, imaging, radiology, diagnos*
Sample search of eBook Collection library database:
Sample search of ProQuest library database:
- CINAHL Complete - (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) articles from nursing and allied health journals
- PubMed - index to the world's biomedical literature [Note: This is a huge database. You may want to limit your search to English language articles and "free full text."]
- Academic Search Complete - a variety of periodicals, including medical journals
- ProQuest - a variety of periodicals, including medical journals
Reference Books - SCC Library 1st Floor
- Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (R 616.075 CURRENT)
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy (R 615.02 MERCK)
- also available online: www.merckmanuals.com/professional/index.html
- Professional Guide to Diseases (R 616 PROFESS)
- Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine (R 616 HARRIS)
[NOTE: Ask library staff to make free photocopies of selected pages for you.]
eBook Collection - around 150,000 ebooks
PubMed Bookshelf - ebooks from the National Library of Medicine (one example: Diseases of the Abdomen and Pelvis)
MedlinePlus – authoritative patient-level health information from various government agencies and nonprofit organizations
Micromedex – library drug database, also includes some disease information
WWW Test - ask these questions when determining whether a source is reliable, especially when Googling.
- Who's the author or organization responsible for the information? Does the author or organization have expertise?
- What's the nature of the information? Is it objective or biased? Is it based on careful research?
- When was it written? Is it appropriately up-to-date?