Skip to main content
library banner

Research Tutorials

Research Basics for ENGL 101

About this page

 woman using a typewriter

The videos below were created for students in the Composition 1 ( English 101) course at SCC.

They're useful for learning about college-level research and research collections which are available to SCC students.

ENGL 101 video tutorials

 

1. RESEARCH BASICS

Research Basics video Research Basics (6 minutes)

 

Highlights these three important principles of research:

1. Research is a process.
2. Use a variety of types of sources to attain balance.
3. Always evaluate information and only select credible sources.

 

2. DATABASES IN THE SCC LIBRARY (INCLUDING ARTICLE DATABASES)

Databases tutorial video

Databases in the SCC Library (5 minutes)

  • What a database is
  • Why we need databases when doing research
  • How to select a database
  • How to find and access databases

 

Demo: Articles video Demo: Article Search Using the ProQuest Database (4 minutes)

 

 3. FINDING WEBSITES USING LIBRARY RESEARCH GUIDES

Demo: Finding a Website using a Library Research Guide

 

DEMO: Finding Websites Using a Library Research Guide (1 minute)

 

 

4. PLAGIARISM

Avoiding Plagiarism video How To Avoid Plagiarism in 5 Easy Steps (3 minutes)

Research help

24/7

Live chat 24/7

Phone

(509) 533-8821

(800) 248-5644 x8821

 

Visit SCC reference desk

SCC Library, Bldg. 16

email

Request appointment with librarian

(on-ground or online)


Have questions? Contact a college librarian.

 

You can use 24/7 chat any time of the day or night, 365 days a year,

and can contact librarians by phone, email, or in-person visit during SCC Library open hours.


Image citation

Image citation: History of Writing: A Typist Employed. Chromolithograph, Early 20th Century. n.d. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.