Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

CAD / Mechanical Design: Research Tools

Periodicals: Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Journals, & Scholarly Journals

SCC Library has magazines, trade publications and other periodicals that students may borrow. Many are also available online in SCC Library databases listed below.

Print periodicals in the library:

  • Popular ScienceFabricating & Metalworking book cover
  • Popular Mechanics
  • Technology Review

Examples of periodicals in ProQuest:

  • Welding Design & Fabrication
  • Fabricating & Metalworking
  • Forming & Fabricating
  • Metal Center News
  • Manufacturing Engineering
  • Automotive Design & Production
  • Ironmaking & Steelmaking
  • Design News

Examples of periodicals in Associates Programs Source Plus:

  • Design News
  • Machine Design
  • Production Machining
  • Metalworking Production
  • Fabricating & Metalwork
  • CAD/CAM Update
  • Journal of Robotics

Searching for Articles in Library Databases

Suggested Databases

Choose either of these databases to find periodical articles (from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals).


Search library databases to find articles on the topic of your choice.

Search tips:

KEYWORDS: Use keywords in your searching. Select words you predict will appear in an article title or description.

PHRASES: Use phrase searching for a phrase of two words or more. Enclose a phrase in quotation marks.

TRUNCATION: Truncate search terms using and asterisk. The search term: fabricat* will retrieve instances of any word starting with f-a-b-r-i-c-a-t, like fabricate, fabricator, fabricating, etc.

BOOLEAN OPERATORS: Combine multiple search concepts using Boolean terms: AND, OR, NOT

Example searches:

welding

"mandrel benders"

"employee retention" AND engineering

"statistical process control" AND "critical path analysis"

"lean manufacturing" AND "mechanical engineering"

"bending machines" AND (tube* OR pipe*)

Books and eBooks

Search the library catalog to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more: 

  • Book cover: Careers in Manufacturing & ProductionComputer-aided design
  • CAD
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Manufactures - Technological innovations
  • Machine design
  • Machine tools
  • Machining - Handbooks, manuals
  • Metal-work
  • Welding
  • Steel, structural
  • Strength of materials
  • Building, iron and steel
  • Human engineering

Reference books like these are on the Library 1st floor.

  • How Products Are Made: An Illustrated Guide to Product Manufacturing
  • Machinery's Handbook: A Reference Book for the Mechanical Engineer, Designer, Manufacturing Engineer, Draftsman, Toolmaker, and Machinist

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is an SCC Library database (accessible from home with SID). Here are just a few ebook titles you will find in our SCC Library Catalog and in this database:

  • Encyclopedia of Corrosion Technology
  • Mechanical Estimating Manual: Sheet Metal, Piping, and Plumbing
  • Automotive Paints and Coatings
  • Printed Circuits Handbook
  • Handbook of Thermoplastics
  • Environment Conscious Engineering

Example ebook: