Try topics like these when searching the EBSCOhost, eBook Collection database:
"Study and teaching" Writing
"Study and teaching" Science
"Study and teaching" Nursing
"Study and teaching" Math
There are over 100 titles by Stylus educational publishers in this database.
Type in search term: Stylus
"Select a Field": PB Publisher
This page lists only ebooks.
See also the list of selected CCS libraries' physical BOOKS
eBooks
Search 100s of higher education titles in the library database, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
eAudioBooks
SCC library has two audiobook databases. (Mindset and Grit are notably included in RB Digital.)
Login questions? As always, contact an SCC librarian with any questions, including login issues.
Specifications Grading: Restoring Rigor, Motivating Students, and Saving Faculty Time by 
Academic Ableism: Disability and Higher Education by 
Culturally Responsive Teaching and the Brain: Promoting Authentic Engagement and Rigor among Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Students by 
Connected Teaching: Relationship, Power, and Mattering in Higher Education by 
Distracted: Why Students Can't Focus and What You Can Do about It by 
Grading for Equity: What It Is, Why It Matters, and How It Can Transform Schools and Classrooms by 
How We Learn : The Surprising Truth about When, Where, and Why It Happens by 
Promoting Inclusive Classroom Dynamics in Higher Education: A Research-Based Pedagogical Guide for Faculty by 
Ungrading: Why Rating Students Undermines Learning (and What to Do Instead) by 
500 Tips for Tutors by 
Academic Motherhood: How Faculty Manage Work and Family by 
Between Speaking and Silence: A Study of Quiet Students by 
Beyond Access: Indigenizing Programs for Native American Student Success by
This book argues that two principal factors are inhibiting Native students from transitioning from school to college and from succeeding in their post-secondary studies. It presents models and examples of pathways to success that align with Native American students' aspirations and cultural values. Many attend schools that are poorly resourced where they are often discouraged from aspiring to college. Many are alienated from the educational system by a lack of culturally appropriate and meaningful environment or support systems that reflect Indigenous values of community, sharing, honoring extended family, giving-back to one's community, and respect for creation. The contributors to this book highlight Indigenized college access programs--meaning programs developed by, not just for--the Indigenous community, and are adapted, or developed, for the unique Indigenous populations they serve. Individual chapters cover a K-12 program to develop a Native college-going culture through community engagement; a “crash course” offered by a higher education institution to compensate for the lack of college counseling and academic advising at students' schools; the role of tribal colleges and universities; the recruitment and retention of Native American students in STEM and nursing programs; financial aid; educational leadership programs to prepare Native principals, superintendents, and other school leaders; and, finally, data regarding Native American college students with disabilities. The chapters are interspersed with narratives from current Indigenous graduate students. This is an invaluable resource for student affairs practitioners and higher education administrators wanting to understand and serve their Indigenous students.
This link opens in a new window
Beyond the Asterisk: Understanding Native Students in Higher Education by
A Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 2013. While the success of higher education and student affairs is predicated on understanding the students we serve, the reality is, where the Native American population is concerned, that this knowledge is generally lacking. This lack may be attributed to this population's invisibility within the academy – it is often excluded from institutional data and reporting, and frequently noted as not statistically significant – and its relegation to what is referred to as the “American Indian research asterisk. ”The purpose of this book is to move beyond the asterisk in an effort to better understand Native students, challenge the status quo, and provide an informed base for leaders in student and academic affairs, and administrators concerned with the success of students on their campuses. The authors of this book share their understanding of Native epistemologies, culture, and social structures, offering student affairs professionals and institutions a richer array of options, resources, and culturally-relevant and inclusive models to better serve this population. The book begins by providing insights into Native student experiences, presenting the first-year experience from a Native perspective, illustrating the role of a Native living/learning community in student retention, and discussing the importance of incorporating culture into student programming for Native students as well as the role of Native fraternities and sororities. The authors then consider administrative issues, such as the importance of outreach to tribal nations, the role of Tribal Colleges and Universities and opportunities for collaborations, and the development of Native American Student Services Units...The book concludes with recommendations for how institutions can better serve Native students in graduate programs, the role that Indigenous faculty play in student success, and how professional associations can assist student affairs professionals with fulfilling their role of supporting the success of Native American students, staff, and faculty. This book moves beyond the asterisk to provide important insights from Native American higher education leaders and non-Native practitioners who have made Native students a priority in their work. While predominantly addressed to the student affairs profession – providing an understanding of the needs of the Native students it serves, describing the multi-faceted and unique issues, characteristics and experiences of this population, and sharing proven approaches to developing appropriate services – it also covers issues of broader administrative concern, such as collaboration with tribal colleges; as well academic issues, such as graduate and professional education. The book covers new material, as well as expanding on topics previously addressed in the literature, including Native American Greek organizations, incorporating Native culture into student programming, and the role of Native American Special Advisors. The contributors are themselves products of colleges and universities where Native students are too often invisible, and who succeeded despite the odds. Their insights and the examples they provide add richness to this book. It will provide a catalyst for new higher education practices that lead to direct, and increased support for, Native Americans and others who are working to remove the Native American asterisk from research and practice.
This link opens in a new window
Building Your Academic Career by 
Changing Higher Education: The Development of Learning and Teaching by 
College in Prison: Reading in an Age of Mass Incarceration by 
College Student Retention: Formula for Student Success by 
Community Colleges Worldwide: Investigating the Global Phenomenon by 
Community Service and Higher Learning: Explorations of the Caring Self by 
Confronting Diversity Issues on Campus by 
A Data-Based Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs in the United States by 
Defending the Community College Equity Agenda by 
Education in America: Issues, Analyses, Policies, and Programs V.3 by 
Effective Learning and Teaching in Modern Languages by 
Effective Teaching in Higher Education by 
Enhancing Teaching in Higher Education: New Approaches to Improving Student Learning by 
Excellence in College Teaching and Learning: Classroom and Online Instruction by 
Exemplary College Science Teaching by 
Exploring Signature Pedagogies: Approaches to Teaching Disciplinary Habits of Mind by 
Facilitating Reflective Learning in Higher Education by 
Faculty Misconduct in Collegiate Teaching by 
Faculty Training for Web Enhanced Learning by 
Fixing College Education: A New Curriculum for the Twenty-first Century by 
Free Speech in the College Community by 
Gateway to Opportunity: A History of the Community College in the United States by 
Getting to Graduation: The Completion Agenda in Higher Education by 
Good Teaching: A Guide for Students
Handbook of College and University Teaching: A Global Perspective by 
Handbook of College Science Teaching by 
Honored but Invisible: An Inside Look at Teaching in Community Colleges
How to Be an Effective Teacher in Higher Education: Answers to Lecturers' Questions by 
How to Succeed in Academics by 
Improving Student's Learning Outcomes by 
Just-in-Time Teaching: Across the Disciplines, Across the Academy by 
Making Scientists by 
Managing Better Schools and Colleges: The Action Research Way by 
Most College Students Are Women: Implications for Teaching, Learning, and Policy by 
Moving Beyond Myths: Revitalizing Undergraduate Mathematics by 
Moving on in Your Career: A Guide for Academics and Postgraduates by 
A New Deal for the Humanities: Liberal Arts and the Future of Public Higher Education by 
On Course: A Week-By-Week Guide to Your First Semester of College Teaching (ebook)
Online Learning in Higher Education by 
Pedagogies for the Future: Leading Quality Learning and Teaching in Higher Education by 
Quick Hits for New Faculty: Successful Strategies by Award Winning Teachers by 
Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education by
Indigenous students remain one of the least represented populations in higher education. They continue to account for only one percent of the total post-secondary student population, and this lack of representation is felt in multiple ways beyond enrollment. Less research money is spent studying Indigenous students, and their interests are often left out of projects that otherwise purport to address diversity in higher education. Recently, Native scholars have started to reclaim research through the development of their own research methodologies and paradigms that are based in tribal knowledge systems and values, and that allow inherent Indigenous knowledge and lived experiences to strengthen the research. Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education highlights the current scholarship emerging from these scholars of higher education. From understanding how Native American students make their way through school, to tracking tribal college and university transfer students, this book allows Native scholars to take center stage, and shines the light squarely on those least represented among us.
Contributors:
Brian McKinley Jones; Charlotte Davidson; Stephanie Waterman; Erin Kahunawai Wright; Adrienne Keene; Amanda Tachine; Sweeney Windchief; Theresa Jean Stewart; David Sanders; Matthew Van Alstine; Natalie Rose Youngbull; Christine A. Nelson; Kaiwipuni Lipe; Pearl Brower
This link opens in a new window
Reshaping Teaching in Higher Education: A Guide to Linking Teaching with Research by 
Stem Models of Success: Programs, Policies, and Practices in the Community College by 
Teaching International Students: Improving Learning for All by 
Teaching Nonmajors: Advice for Liberal Arts Professors by 
Teaching What You Don't Know by 
Teaching with Integrity: The Ethics of Higher Education Practice by 
Teaching Without Tenure by 
Teaching Your First College Class: A Practical Guide For New Faculty and Graduate Student Instructors (ebook) by 
Teaching, Learning and Study Skills: A Guide for Tutors by 
Team Teaching: Across the Disciplines, Across the Academy by 
The Adjunct Faculty Handbook by 
The Art of Teaching by 
The Challenge of Scholarship: Rethinking Learning, Teaching and Research by 
The Faculty Factor: Reassessing the American Academy in a Turbulent Era by 
The Joy of Teaching: A Practical Guide for New College Instructors by 
The Spark of Learning: Energizing the College Classroom With the Science of Emotion by 
The Teacher's Body: Embodiment, Authority, and Identity in the Academy by 
The Undecided College Student: An Academic and Career Advising Challenge by 
Transforming the Academy: Faculty Perspectives on Diversity and Pedagogy by 
Traveling Through the Boondocks: In and Out of Academic Hierarchy by 
Understanding Teaching Excellence in Higher Education: Towards a Critical Approach by 
Using Simulations to Promote Learning in Higher Education: An Introduction by 
Volunteers in Public Schools by 
What the Best College Teachers Do (ebook) by 
Culture and Online Learning: Global Perspectives and Research by 
Advancing Black Male Student Success from Preschool Through Ph. D. by 
University Teaching and Faculty Development Research Compendium by 
