Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Teaching & Learning in Higher Education: Resources for Faculty

Periodicals in the SCC Library collection

 

Below are featured a handful of periodicals and serials from the SCC Library's print and online collections.

There are also 1000s of journals and other periodicals available in library databases and free indexes like ERIC.

Searching periodicals can be complex. Don't hesitate to ask librarians for help at any time.

 

 RSS Alert icon Sign up for RSS feeds from your favorite journal so you never miss an issue. Librarians can show you how.

TETYC

New Directions

cover art of New Directions serials

The New Directions series are published quarterly and are available through the SCC Library.

  • PRINT  The Library has a current subscription to New Directions for Community Colleges (Call number 378.1543).
  • ONLINE The titles below are available full-text (with a 1-year delay) in the library database Academic Search Complete.

Searching

SEARCHING for articles on a particular topic may be most efficiently done using the library database Academic Search Complete.

BROWSING may be easiest using the Wiley websites below to identify a desired title:


          New Directions for Community Colleges (Current PRINT issues in library)

  New Directions for Teaching & Learning

  New Directions for Adult & Continuing Education

  New Directions for Child & Adolescent Development

  New Directions for Higher Education

  New Directions for Institutional Research

  New Directions for Student Leadership

  New Directions for Student Services

  New Directions for Youth Development

FULL-TEXT NOTE: If you find an citation with no full-text attached,request the article from an SCC librarian. We'll obtain it for you through interlibrary loan.

The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education is available in the following ways:

1. PRINT version is located in the SCC Library. Some recent issues may also be located in the TLC.

2. ONLINE premium access is available through the SCC Library, (Create an account on-campus; thereafter login to access full content from anywhere. Contact a librarian if you'd like help creating a premium account from The Chronicle of Higher Education.)

[3.The FREE version of the of The Chronicle website contains some free full-text articles, enhanced content, job listings, and more.]


News, alerts (RSS feeds), blogs, videos, etc.

There's a lot to explore on The Chronicle website. [Click the SECTIONS tab on the website.]

Create an account to access premium content, receive regular alerts of news in academe, and view videos about leadership, student anxiety, and more.

Searching and indexing is available through several tools.

  • The Chronicle's website and archive lets you browse and search current and past issues.
  • SCC Library databases (Academic Search Complete & ProQuest) provide a searchable index to The Chronicle.