Like any complex skill, learning to search databases requires practice.
When the librarian visits your class, they will show you how to search library databases, and they'll expand on why you may want to use this tool throughout your life.
To get the most benefit from the librarian visit, attempt a brief search of library databases beforehand. It's expected that you will have questions when you search. The librarian will happily answer your questions during class.
Before class, spend 10 minutes searching the two library databases suggested below.
NOTE: Spend only about 5 minutes on each database. The point of the exercise is simply to experience searching. If you don't find an article you like, that's OK!
Write down at least one question you have about how to search databases. During class, you'll be asked to pose your question to the librarian, or you may post it immediately here:
Only currently enrolled SCC students can access these commercial databases.
Accessing library databases requires login.
If you'd like to see a demonstration of how to search library databases or how to navigate the library website, watch these videos:
So that students can practice finding information in library databases, SCC librarians have given suggestions below of:
Keep in mind that searching may or may not be simple, depending on the information you're looking for.
You may always ask an expert researcher for help. College librarians are happy to help you 24/7!
A simple strategy is to start by searching:
Your APLED instructor has given you some example presentation topics. We'll use these when exploring how to search library databases.
When searching encyclopedia and ebook collections, try search terms which describe a broad topic.
Here are example topics and searches:
Example searches:
When searching periodical article indexes (like ProQuest & Associates Programs Source Plus), use search terms which describe a narrow topic.
Here are some example topics and searches:
Example searches:
