Liaison & Library Support for Faculty: New Faculty Welcome

  Research assistance for you and your students 

Faculty librarians assist students, faculty, and all researchers in finding, evaluating, and ethically using information.  

Students and CCS employees can get help from a live librarian via 24/7 online chat and may contact librarians on the Spokane campus via phone, email, or by visiting the library. 

You're a researcher too! Ask college librarians if you’d like assistance in obtaining information for your professional and personal information needs.  

Collection (print & electronic) 

Contact a librarian to learn more about the library collection for your discipline. As you are experts in your discipline, librarians highly value your collaboration & input. We encourage faculty to collaborate in the continuous development of the college library collection of learning resources. All collection suggestions are welcome.

Featured services:  

• Fully utilize our large collection of academic & professional e-resources by embedding learning objects in Canvas (videos, articles, portions of e-books, research tutorials, etc.). 

• Librarians are happy to assist you in discovering free or low-cost Open-Educational Resources (OER). 

Course reserves & equipment   

• Placing course materials on reserve in the library or rural center is an immense aid to students, especially those facing financial challenges. To learn more, contact circulation supervisor Karen Waite at 533-8255. 
• The library provides 7-day loan of IT administered equipment: 25 laptops and 12 wireless hotspots. (Encourage students to pursue the many funding opportunities at the college for obtaining their own laptops and hotspots.) 
• A virtual reality station and the Library of Things round out our equipment offerings.  

Customized library instruction (on-ground & online; one-shot or embedded) 

Library faculty serve as library liaisons to your discipline offering instruction sessions and embedded librarian collaborations (on-ground or online) tailored to your students’ information needs. Collaborate with your liaison librarian to teach these or other information literacy abilities:   

• Locating credible information resources for general or assignment-specific research    

(books, ebooks, periodical articles, multimedia sources, specialized research databases, etc.) 

• Basic & advanced web searching, including how to evaluate the credibility of information 

• Citation and how to ethically use information 

Librarians also create online research guides and tutorials which cover either general topics or resources for specific projects or courses. 

Library instruction calendars may fill quickly, so contact a librarian promptly to schedule a class, demonstration, or other support service.

Wondering which library and information abilities are required or recommended for students at colleges or within a profession?

Contact your liaison librarian to learn more about:

• Information Literacy as an SCC college-wide, Key Literacy* (formerly college-wide outcomes)
• Accreditation requirements from NWCCU regarding information literacy and library resources (Sections 2.H.1 and 1.C.6]
• Program-level, IL learning outcomes created by SCC Library faculty which apply to all SCC library instruction
• Creating IL learning outcomes at any level, as for a class session, course, program, or department/division
• Information Literacy standards and frameworks adopted by specific professions & disciplines
• The Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education from the ACRL** (Association of College & Research Libraries)

*Information Literacy: An SCC, college-wide Key Literacy: Description

Students will develop knowledge and abilities allowing them to identify, locate, and evaluate information pertaining to the problem under consideration. Students will learn how to responsibly research, use, share, and produce accurate, relevant information gleaned through skilled research methods.

**Information Literacy as defined by ACRL "Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning."

  SCC Tutoring Services 

 IT computer lab of 50 PCs and one Mac. In addition, IT's loanable student laptops and hotspots are circulated from the library.

TLC: Teaching & Learning Center collection

Explore a rich collection of resources on the TLC book shelves plus ebooks online. 

 SCC Peace Institute collection

Library Research Guide: Peace lists a sampling of multimedia resources, or browse and borrow items from the subcollection located in the Spokane campus library. 

Interlibrary Loan 

If you or your students want a book or article not held in the CCS libraries, library staff will obtain it through ILL, SCC’s reciprocal borrowing network. Contact library staff to request and item via ILL.

Spokane Public Library 

• Spokane Business Library (A collaborative collection of SPL/SCLD/EWU) 
• All CCS students and employees are automatically approved to get an online library card enabling access to SPL digital collections including: Kanopy videos, language learning, & more.