Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, eBooks, & Reference Books
Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.
- Circulating books are on the library 2nd floor.
- Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
- Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.
Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:
- Math anxiety
- Mathematics, Ancient
- Mathematics - History
- Newton, Isaac
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) contains select ebooks (login required)
Reference books include subject encyclopedias which are a good starting point for research. Several Library databases contain e-encyclopedias including:
Here are some print and electronic subject encyclopedia examples:
Databases: Article & more
Article index databases (like ProQuest and Academic Search Complete) allow complex searching in 1000s of periodicals.
Here are some examples of successful searches you can do in these two databases:
mathematics and "knot theory"
fractal* and "mathematical models"
To find periodical articles, choose Databases by Subject from the SCC Library homepage or use the databases below.
(Image: Fractal Geometry Showing Mandelbrot Set. Photograph.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 28 Oct. 2013.)
Easy to understand tutorials. Click on LEARN and select a math category.
Learn about Algebra, Geometry, Number Theory, Topology, History of Math, and more
From Drexel University, "... the leading online resource for improving math learning, teaching, and communication since 1992"
Student Resources: American Mathematical Society
Websites and other information sources of interest to undergraduate Math students
"Students can receive immediate feedback on algorithmically generated questions with numerical or algebraic expression answers. And it can do so much more, providing a full course management system, including file posting, discussion forums, and a full gradebook, all designed with mathematics in mind."