Skip to Main Content

Culinary Arts & Baking

Research resources, tips, and support from SCC librarians

Use SCC Library databases to find ebooks about food, cooking, baking, business, careers, and more.

Suggested ebook databases in the SCC Library collection

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Salem Press This link opens in a new window

Database Login Help
Library databases require login. If you encounter login issues, try the remedies in this guide or contact a librarian for help 24/7.

Example ebooks

Leadership Lessons from a Chef: Finding Time to Be Great by Charles Carroll
Publication Date: 2007
Event Planning: The Ultimate Guide to Successful Meetings, Corporate Events, Fundraising Galas, Conferences, Conventions, Incentives and Other Special Events by Judy Allen
Publication Date: 2009
Careers in Hospitality & Tourism
Call Number: Career Reference: 647.402 CAREERS 2014
Chefs Collective: Recipes, Tips & Secrets From 50 of the World's Greatest Chefs by Michelle Tchea
Publication Date: 2017
Business Plans Handbook
Publication Date: 2014
A Natural History of Wine by Ian Tattersall, Rob DeSalle, Patricia J. Wynne
Publication Date: 2015, Yale University Press
"... this colorfully illustrated book embraces almost every imaginable area of the sciences, from microbiology and ecology (for an understanding of what creates this complex beverage) to physiology and neurobiology (for insight into the effects of wine on the mind and body). The authors draw on physics, chemistry, biochemistry, evolution, and climatology, and they expand the discussion to include insights from anthropology, primatology, entomology, Neolithic archaeology, and even classical history." - SCC Library catalog
Molecular Gastronomy: Exploring the Science of Flavor by Hervé This
Call Number: 664.072 THIS 2006
Publication Date: 2006
(Both print & ebook are available)
Land of Plenty: How Should We Ensure That People Have the Food They Need? by Julie Pratt
Publication Date: 2017
Modernism and Food Studies: Politics, Aesthetics, and the Avant-Garde by Jessica Martell et al.
Publication Date: UP of Florida, 2019
Mouthfeel: How Texture Makes Taste by Ole G. Mouritsen et al.
Publication Date: Columbia UP, 2017
The Pastry Chef's Companion: A Comprehensive Resource Guide for the Baking and Pastry Professional by Glenn Rinsky; Laura Halpin Rinsky
Publication Date: 2008
Religion and Sustainable Agriculture: World Spiritual Traditions and Food Ethics by Editors: Todd LeVasseur, Pramod Parajuli, Norman Wirzba
Publication Date: 2016
Stirring the Pot: A History of African Cuisine by James C. McCann
Publication Date: Ohio UP, 2009
The Way We Ate: Pacific Northwest Cooking, 1843-1900 by Jacqueline Williams
Publication Date: Washington State UP, 1996
Food Jobs: 150 Great Jobs for Culinary Students, Career Changers and Food Lovers by Irena Chalmers
Publication Date: 2008
The Professional Chef by Culinary Institute of America
Publication Date: 2011

Antiquarian books, magazines, & menus

There are several repositories of historical books on culinary topics, including cookbooks, menus, and more. See some examples below, and consult with a librarian if you don't easily find what you need.

Internet Archive: Le cuisinier moderne, ou, Les secrets de l'art culinaire : menus, haute cuisine, pâtisserie, glaces, office, etc. : suivi d'un dictionnaire complet des termes techniques
By Garlin, Gustave, 1889
Internet Archive (Example search results)
MSU Libraries: LIsts of digitized cookbooks
Cookbooks: Open Library
CIA Menu Collection
Guide from the CIA: Culinary Institute of American Library listing hIstorical and other menus