SCC Library Instruction News: Summer 2025

SCC Library hours

• Students: SCC Library is open to students Monday - Thursday, 8am - 4pm.
• Employees: Please contact library personnel at any time. Although the library may be closed to students, library personnel may still be available to help you.

(Summer hours will be posted soon on the Library homepage.)

Contact Summer faculty about instructional support

Select library faculty are available during summer. Contact us to schedule or discuss instructional support, or with any questions you may have. You're also welcome to communicate via 24/7 Help linked on the SCC Library homepage.

Janine Odlevak (Weeks 1 & 2) July 1 - July 10 

Greg Bem (Weeks 3, 4, & 5) July 14 - July 31

Corinne Norris (Weeks 6, 7, & 8) August 4 - August 21 

You may have seen the June message about changes to library databases which was sent by Melinda Martin, library faculty chair. A bulleted summary follows, and the full message is below. Contact library personnel with any questions or to explore ways to incorporate information resources into your courses.

New database acquired!

• Statista 

  A leading statistics portal offering access to over 1 million statistics, infographics, and reports across industries, topics, and countries. It's a great tool for data-driven research, business planning, and presentations.

• Note: SCC librarians are very excited to add this this database to our collection; we imagine it will be highly useful for students doing research in nearly any field including Business, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

• About Statista

Cessation of Gale databases provided by state subscription

• Gale databases which were included in a 2024/25, state-wide, annual subscription funded by WA State have ceased. These include an array of periodical indexes typically used in K-12 and public libraries.
• Note: All SCC students (and employees) may still access these databases for as long as they are held at Spokane Public Library. Contact SCC or SPL librarians with questions.

Continuation of two Gale databases

• Gale databases to which SCC Library subscribes apart from WA State Library will continue including these 2 longstanding SCC resources:

  • Gale eBooks: Encyclopedias and other reference books on a variety of subjects

  • Gale: Opposing Viewpoints: Coverage of controversial issues with viewpoint essays, topic overviews, statistics, & primary sources 

Reprint of email from Melinda Martin to SCC Everyone

Dear SCC Community,

We hope your Spring Term is going well. We are writing to inform you of some upcoming changes to our library’s database offerings, effective July 1, due to state-level budget reductions via the Washington State Library.

Gale Databases Update

Unfortunately, the majority of the Gale databases will no longer be available through our library. This change is a result of significant cuts to the state’s subsidized database package, which previously funded our access.

However, we will continue to provide access to:

Opposing Viewpoints – A widely used resource for debate and research on current social issues.

Select Gale Reference eBooks – A curated collection of digital reference titles for academic and general use.

We understand that this may impact research and instruction, and we are here to help you navigate alternative resources.

New Resource: Statista

We are pleased to announce that our library has acquired access to Statista, a powerful data platform that provides:

• Over one million statistics from over 22,500 sources
• Ready-to-use charts, infographics, and reports
• Industry, company, consumer, and market data across more than 600 industries
• Statista is ideal for supporting data-driven research, presentations, business projects, and coursework in a wide range of disciplines. It’s user-friendly and a valuable tool for students and faculty alike.

We encourage you to explore Statista this fall and integrate it into your research and teaching.

If you have questions about these changes or need assistance identifying alternative resources, please don’t hesitate to contact us or stop by the library.

Thank you for your continued support!